top of page
Search
  • tskiver1225

Science vs Buffalo Wild Wings

First, let me hit you with this: I don't do traditional meal prep.

I do, however, prepare my menus on a weekly basis.


There are a few reasons for that:

I always know what's coming up to eat, which get's rid of the decision fatigue.

I am able to be more flexible in my diet because I can see the big picture.

I am not wasting time, money or food by hitting up the grocery store with no plan.


To feel better prepared throughout the week, I have started doing these few things:

I set out the ingredients for the following day's meals. That could mean taking meat out of the freezer, setting setting out my snacks, making sure all my spices are there, or communicating with my husband that he's on dinner duty.

I go to the grocery store once a week. This ensures I have time to be at home cooking and spending time with my family. I also helps me use up food that would otherwise go bad.

I keep my eye on my cravings and listen to my body. I'm able to eat in moderation and variety because I know what I want and what is to come, instead always chasing down the next craving.





Let's look at a real life example: Buffalo Wild Wings

I have a craving for buffalo sauce with ranch dip that doesn't seem to go away.

By being prepared with a meal plan and ingredients I'm able to bypass the cravings and ache in my heart that is crying out for Buffalo Wild Wings. And sometimes, I work it into the plan!


Let's look at the science: ABCs of eating behavior

First, the Antecedent, or the cues that tell us what we want and when - aka: Cravings, are noticed and I have a chance to make a decision.

The Behavior response to that antecedent makes or breaks if I give into the craving. By being prepared, sometimes I can and other times I can push the craving aside.

Because every response has a Consequence. And continuing on my health journey, I want more positive consequences than negative.


These are the ways real life and science helps me stay in line with my health and my goals.


And, yes, I lied a little. I do prep a few things: Breakfast foods!

We regularly make frozen breakfast burritos and sandwiches.

They couldn't be any easier:

12 english muffins

12 eggs, baked in a casserole or fried individually

12 slices of bacon

12 slices of cheese, optional

8 whole wheat tortillas

8 eggs, scrambled

1 can refried beans






Assemble the 12 english muffins with the eggs, bacon and cheese.

Assemble the tortillas with eggs and beans.

Freeze in individually wrapped packages for up to 2 months (but I promise they won't last that long.)


Is there food you love to prep?


~T



8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page